12 incumbents in Cebu enjoy lead over rivals

AT LEAST 12 reelectionists in Cebu Province and three cities were leading their opponents, according to partial and unofficial results as of 10:17 p.m. Monday, May 9, 2022.These incumbent officials are Cebu Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia, Vice Gov. Hilario Davide III, Mandaue City Mayor Jonas Cortes, Lapu-Lapu City Mayor Junard “Ahong” Chan, Lapu-Lapu City Vice Mayor Celsi Sitoy, and Talisay City Mayor Gerald Anthony “Samsam” Gullas Jr.The other incumbents were City of Naga Vice Mayor Virgilio Chiong, Toledo City Marjorie “Joie” Perales, Toledo City Vice Mayor Jake Sigue, Bogo City Mayor Carlo Jose Martinez, and Bogo City Vice Mayor Maria Cielo “Mayel” Martinez.In Cebu City, Mayor Michael Rama was leading over his opponents in the race for mayor.All the numbers cited in this report came from the Comelec Transparency Media.Race to MalacañangAt the national level, former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. was leading the presidential race with 23,017,285 votes, as of 10:17 p.m.Vice President Maria Leonor “Leni” Robredo came in second with 10,915,045 votes.The other presidential bets Sen. Manny Pacquiao had 2,152,579 votes; Manila Mayor Francisco “Isko” Moreno Domagoso, 1,485,030; Sen. Panfilo “Ping” Lacson, 710,871; Faisal Mangondato, 101,650; Ernie Abella, 73,388; Leody de Guzman, 64,450; Norberto Gonzales, 59,501; and Jose Montemayor, 41, 373.In the vice presidential race, Marcos’ running mate and Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio led with 23,322,041. Robredo’s running mate, Sen. Francis Pangilinan, came in second with 7,051,753 votes while Senate President Vicente Sotto III placed third with 6,333,273 votes.Gunning for governorshipIn Cebu, Governor Garcia had 1,037,094 votes while her closest rival, former tourism secretary Joseph Felix Mari “Ace” Durano had 250,069 votes. Independent gubernatorial candidate NitoMagnanao received 7,215 votes.Garcia is seeking a fresh term, her fifth overall. The governor had served as governor for three consecutive terms, from 2004 to 2013. She was elected governor in 2019, defeating former vice governor Agnes Magpale, a relative of Durano.This is the first time Durano ran for the governor’s office.His running mate and Vice Governor Davide III was ahead in the vice gubernatorial race with 568,915 votes while Garcia’s running mate, Dr. Maria Theresa Heyrosa, had 502,670. The third candidate John Enad got 37,758 votes. Davide had served as Cebu governor for two terms, from 2013 to 2019. He did not seek a third term in 2019, opting to run for vice governor and won against then Garcia’s running mate Glenn Soco.In Lapu-Lapu City, Chan who is seeking a second term was leading over his closest rival, Rep. Paz Radaza, with 124,901 votes over the latter’s 38,143 votes. Chan’s running mate Vice Mayor Sitoy got 105,487 votes while Rico Amores came in second with 39,757. Randel Canton came in third with 4,227 votes.As for Gullas in Talisay City, the incumbent was leading over his erstwhile ally Vice Mayor Alan Bucao with 83,700 votes over the latter’s 28,014 votes.Battle for Cebu CityIn Cebu City, Mayor Michael Rama was leading the mayoral race with 194,583 votes. Margarita “Margot” Osmeña came in second with 164,816 votes.Rama became mayor on Nov. 20, 2021, a day after the death of then mayor Edgardo Labella. In the 2019 elections, the two were running mates with Rama running for vice mayor and won.David Tumulak got the most votes among the independent candidates with 116,760. Cris Saavedra, Edgar Concha Jr. and Juanito Luna got 1,148, 917 and 619 votes, respectively.In the race for vice mayor, Councilor Raymond Alvin Garcia was leading with 230,685 votes over his opponents Kasambagan Barangay Captain Franklyn Ong (181,763) and Bimbo Fernandez (30,617).For the race for the North District seat in the House of Representatives, Rachel “Cutie” del Mar was leading the race with 98,391 votes. Her closest rival, Councilor Niña Mabatid had 54,463 votes. Other candidates actor Richard Yap had 46,053 votes; lawyer Avenescio Piramide, 15,492; and Manny Momongan, 1,619.Councilor Edu Rama led the race for the South District seat in the Lower House with 133,831 votes. His sole opponent Rodrigo Bebot “BG” Abellanosa had 111,309 votes.Other racesAs of 10:17 p.m., these were the partial and unofficial results of the mayoral and vice mayoral races in the component cities of Naga, Toledo, Bogo and Danao.In the City of Naga, mayoral candidate Valdemar Chiong secured a very significant lead, getting 33,796 votes against former vice mayor Delfin Señor (6,953 votes) and former city councilor Venci del Mar (2,906 votes). Chiong’s running mate, his brother and incumbent vice mayor Virgilio, also secured 30,783 votes in the city’s vice mayoral race. Virgilio’s opponents Rolando Yabut and Manny Sanchez had 4,679 and 4,035 votes, respectively.In Toledo City, incumbent Mayor Perales was leading the mayoral race with 41,660 votes against her opponents Jonathan “Atan” Sepada (16,291 votes) and Manny Birao (1,220 votes).Perales’ running mate, incumbent Toledo City Vice Mayor Jake Sigue, was in the lead in the city’s vice mayoral race with 31,939 votes. His opponent, independent candidate Jeffrey Borja had 18,109 votes.In Bogo City, reelectionist mayor Carlo Jose Martinez had a 20,581 lead against his opponent, businesswoman Daphne Salimbangon. Martinez, who is running for a second term, got 30,110 votes while Salimbangon only got 9,529 votes.Martinez’s sister Maria Cielo “Mayel” Martinez was also leading the city’s vice mayoral race with 31,582 votes against Arturo Pacifico who got 5,178 votes. Like her brother, Maria Cielo is also running for reelection.In Danao City, incumbent Vice Mayor Thomas “Mix” Durano was in the lead in the city’s mayoral race with 37,307 votes against challengers Thri Duterte (16,729 votes) and Cardo Tito (498 votes).Durano’s father, incumbent Mayor Ramon “Nito” Durano III, was also leading in the city’s vice mayoral race with 39,534 votes. His opponent, Boyito Quiroz, had 10,593 votes. (KAL, JKV)