8 athletes from Cebu to compete in Palarong Pambansa VisMin Cup finals

TWO athletes from Cebu City and six from Cebu Province are off to Palarong Pambansa Boxing Visayas-Mindanao Cup finals match on Friday, July 15, 2022.Three of these athletes will fight under the name of coach Edito “ALA” Villamor. They are Kerby Hoybia of team Cebu City, and AJ “Ala” Villamor and Vicente Unidos from team Cebu province.Hoybia outclassed Abello Sean Óneal by a split decision, 3-2, in the School Boys light flyweight division.Villamor won against Loreno Jony Mar by unanimous decision, 5-0, in the School Boys Flyweight.Unidos destroyed Napoles John Paul by a split decision, 4-1, in the Youth Boys Light Welter Weight.Justin Balbarino of Team Cebu North, however, lost to Cometa Jerome by a unanimous decision, 5-0.Joebert Catulogan of team Cebu province also lost his battle to John Steven Demaisip by a unanimous decision, 5-0.Hoybia, AJ, Balbarino, Catulogan and Batlag all started under coach Villamor’s tutelage, while Unidos was fine-tuned at the Villamor Boxing Gym.Khyl Sumalinog, Baricuatro Jay Bryan, Aranas Jemuel, and Fajardo Mark Anthony from team Cebu Province; and John Kevien Jimenez of team Cebu City also won in their respective semi-finals bouts.Sumalinog defeated Janze Jezreel Quilaton of team Cebu City by a unanimous decision, 5-0, in the School Boys Light Bantam Weight.Baricuatro beat Dryxz Russel Sardalla also by a unanimous decision, 5-0, in the Youth Boys Light Flyweight.Aranas destroyed Arielle Garth Llamas in the Youth Boys Flyweight via third round stoppage.Fajardo outgunned Crisaldy Beltran by a split decision, 4-1, in the Youth Boys Light Welter Weight, while John Kevien Jimenez beat Abahan Burlat by a split decision, 4-1, in the Youth Boys Flyweight.In other results, Labang Rodolfo beat Erwin Paqubol by unanimous decision (5-0); Nick Angelo Payla defeated Niño Mark Viterbo by unanimous decision; Sherwin Villanueva outgunned Zyro Parangan by unanimous decision; Jerome Lopez won against Rolando Escorel by unanimous decision; Devon Tejano destroys Charly Marzan Jr. by a unanimous decision; Churl Curate won against Rodel- Recosana by a uninimous decision; Kenshin Jake Arellano won against John Paul Sarigumba in a split decision (4-1); Novem King Espina outclassed Mark Christian Parreno by a unanimous decision; Eduard Teric knocked out Rhenz Rodolfh Parong in second round; and Geovanue Rosalina demolished Jesus Caesar Penaflorida by a unanimous decision. Ryan Megabon, CNU intern