CCPO reports 10 barangays for failing to keep minors at home

THE Cebu City Police Office (CCPO) has submitted the list of 10 barangays where its personnel caught minors violating curfew in 17 days to the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).

These barangays are Guadalupe, Calamba, Talamban, Sawang Calero, Tejero, Kalunasan, San Nicolas Central, Mabini, Lahug and Ermita.

CCPO Director Josefino Ligan said it would be up to the DILG if it would punish barangay officials

From Aug. 15 to 31, the CCPO always reminded barangay officials to monitor the youngsters and keep them from going outside their houses at night.

However, the CCPO still caught several minors playing online games inside internet cafes past curfew.

The CCPO warned barangay officials that it would report them to the DILG if they failed to close internet cafes in their areas of jurisdiction.

Ligan said Section 15 of the Executive Order No. 137 issued by then acting mayor Michael Rama mandates all barangay officials to establish control points to monitor residents, including minors, who are going outside their homes for no reason.

The CCPO has observed that Covid-19 cases were high in barangays where only few violators were caught, but the cases were low in barangays where several apprehensions were made.

Ligan said they will continue to enforce the mandatory stay-at-home policy in Cebu City as the city is still under modified enhanced community quarantine. (AYB / KAL)