ECQ-like lockdown to be imposed in 7 barangays in Samboan town

THE southern town of Samboan, Cebu will implement a “hard lockdown” in seven barangays from Friday, July 23, 2021 to Wednesday, July 28.

The Municipal Government decided to restrict the movement of residents because of the continuing rise in coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) cases in these areas.

Executive Order (EO) 25 issued by Mayor Emerito Calderon Jr. will affect the barangays of Bato, Bonbon, Colase, Suba, Dalahikan, Poblacion and Tangbo.

According to the order, residents from upland villages will not be allowed to enter the coastal areas during this period.

Business establishments will be closed except for pharmacies, money remittance centers and convenience stores.

Tourism sites will also temporarily shut down, while churches cannot hold masses, weddings and baptisms.

Eateries and the public market will also be off-limits to the public.

Any mass gatherings, sports activities and non-essential travel will not be allowed during this period.

The restrictions will be similar to the ones imposed when the country was first placed under enhanced community quarantine last year.

The Municipal Government has assured that it will distribute food and medicines to all affected residents.

It has already ordered the town police to monitor the movement of residents to ensure safety and peace and order.

Based on the latest update issued by the Rural Health Unit, active Covid-19 cases in the town have reached 24.

The public has been urged to comply with the mayor’s EO 25 to prevent the spread of the disease. (ANV/PJB)