IBP Cebu chapter posts new set of officers for ‘21

THE nationwide biennial Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) chapter elections on Saturday, Feb. 27, 2021, allowed online voting for the first time.

Ria Lidia Espina, the outgoing IBP Cebu chapter president, said that of the 1,387 qualified members of the IBP Cebu chapter, a total of 350 members cast their votes personally or manually, while 289 opted to vote online, for a total voter turnout of only 46.07 percent.

This is higher compared to the 39 percent turnout during the previous chapter election, she said.

Cheryl Condat was elected to lead the IBP Cebu’s 25th Board of Officers, while Michael Hubahib won the chapter vice presidency.

Arra dela Peña was elected secretary; Linda Baring, treasurer; Hope Cesely Alo, auditor; and Edmar Lerios, public relations officer.

Rhea Jurjette Burdeos, Alen Joel Pita, Giovanni Gil, Marricar Ruñez and Jonathan Villegas were chosen as chapter directors.

The proclamation for the new set of officers for the IBP Cebu took longer compared to the IBP Cebu City whose nominees were uncontested.

Espina said the IBP Cebu election committee decided to temporarily adjourn at 2:20 a.m. Sunday, Feb. 28, after completing the canvassing of onsite votes.

The counting of the e-ballots resumed Sunday afternoon. The proclamation was made at 6 p.m.

Regional Trial Court (RTC) Mandaue City Executive Judge Mercedita Ygnacio and RTC Lapu-Lapu City Executive Judge Joseph Stephen Ygnacio were designated as observers. (WBS)