Inaugural MPBA fires off with 24 teams

The newly founded amateur league Mandaue’s Pride Basketball Association (MPBA) Summer Cup eyes to further promote the name of Mandaue City and its local players when it opens on Feb. 26, 2023.

Twenty-four teams have signed up to compete for the inaugural crown and the P40,000 cash prize.

The league was formally launched with a press launching on Saturday, Feb. 18, 2023, in Banilad, Cebu City attended by league commissioner Fritz Eduard Malinao, co-commissioner Marrion Joseph Ybañez, Ricardo Labrague Jr. of Winzir Sports, league editor Francis Jason Blasco, team managers, coaches, representatives and the media.

MPBA Summer Cup commissioner Fritz Eduard Malinao explained that the diverse teams that will compete are from different companies and basketball clubs in Cebu.

“The main goal of this event is to promote the City of Mandaue through the very known sport during summer which is basketball. Since most leagues are in Cebu City, we have organized and invited teams to participate,” said Malinao.

Ybañez further explained that many leagues are promoting Cebu but there’s none yet for Mandaue City.

“There are also many talented players in Mandaue City and even in our neighboring towns in the north and also in the south. This league will give them a chance to showcase their skills,” he said.

To level the playing field, there will be no ex-pro players allowed in the tournament. Only varsity players who last played in 2017 are eligible to play.

The 24 teams will be divided into the south and north divisions. Each division will have two brackets and will compete in a single round-robin format with the top four teams in each bracket advancing to the playoffs.

The north and south division champions will compete for the overall crown.

Teams participating include Spartacus, Lawisanon Ballers, ARQ, Boleros, Crocs, MAAB JY, Half Baked, Tatay Rudys, Barrio Dos, Headway, Truck n Trail, Mr. MRD, Quaderno, DC Abay2, Marpon, Pray Boys, RB Tailoring, ZA/JD Customs, Markuz, Artera, VDrink, AE Sports Masters, BFP and Peacekeepers.

The tournament will be played at the Cebu Port Authority basketball gym in Cebu City and the Benidicto College court in Mandaue City, while the main venue, the Mandaue City Cultural and Sports Complex, is under renovation. (with PR)