Upset wins in Carcar, Barili, Cordova, San Fernando

IT WAS a day of upsets for reelectionists and longtime names in the political scene in a city and three towns in Cebu Tuesday after their rivals were proclaimed winners in the May 9, 2022 elections.In Cordova town, Mayor Mary Therese Sitoy-Cho lost her reelection bid after garnering just 17,052 votes to challenger Cesar “Didoy” Suan’s 21,222 votes.In the vice mayoral race, Boyet Tago also triumphed with 18,465 votes over Ximgil Dino “Em-em” Sitoy, Sitoy-Cho’s running mate, who managed just 13,158 votes.Municipal council winners were Jerome Lepiten, Larenz Lar Lagon, Remar Baguio, Jose “Joy” Wahing, Teodorico “Dodong” Casquejo Jr., Lemuel Wahing Pogoy, Chito Bentazal and Natileigh Marie Therese “Nats” Sitoy.San FernandoTown councilor Mytha Ann Canoy defeated incumbent San Fernando mayor Lakambini “Neneth” Reluya, who was running for her third and final term as town mayor.Canoy, the daughter-in-law of former San Fernando Mayor Antonio Canoy, secured 23,278 votes while Reluya garnered 20,143 votes.Despite her defeat, Reluya’s son, incumbent vice mayor Ricci Regens Reluya, was able to win his reelection bid after securing 16,006 votes against Councilor PJ Medalla, who got 15,279 votes and Cocoy Enad, who got 10,649 votes.Carcar CityCouncilor Mario Patricio “Patrick” Barcenas was proclaimed mayor of Carcar City on Tuesday, May 10, 2022, after securing 43,177 votes, defeating former mayor and incumbent Vice Mayor Nicepuro Apura who secured only 28,291 votes.Barcenas and Apura were previously allies under the Alayon Party of the Cebu’s first district before the 2022 elections.Barcenas’ running mate, Efren Quijano, was also proclaimed vice mayor after he got 36,240 votes, defeating Apura’s spouse and incumbent Mayor Mercedita Apura who got 32,733 votes.The councilor candidates under Barcenas and Quijano namely Jufhel Alcuizar, Jeson Fernandez, Inting Escobido, Perkins de Dios, Harold Nacua and Roy Velez were also voted as councilors-elect. Also proclaimed as councilors-elect are incumbent councilor Bebe Barcenas, Lorena Mae Tabora, lawyer Mich Amistad-Zozobrado and Ian del Rosario.BariliIn Barili town in southwest Cebu, Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia’s nephew was named the new Barili mayor.First-term town councilor Pablo John “John-John” Garcia IV, son of the late Barili mayor Marlon Garcia, was proclaimed mayor Tuesday, after securing 24,836 votes, defeating incumbent Mayor Julieto “Julie” Flores, who got only 20,705 votes.Flores, who was elected vice mayor in 2019, assumed the post of mayor in September 2020 following the death of then mayor Marlon Garcia.Aside from Garcia, also declared winner was his One Cebu party mate Luisito “Loy” Ponsica for vice mayor (22,084 votes) after he defeated Ranulfo Bolo (15,747 votes).Other declared winners of the town’s local elections were municipal councilors-elect Jayra Ruiz, Joshua Ricardel, Dr. Teresito Mariñas, Nelson Gingoyon, Robert Arthur “Bobet” Alquizola, John Añober, Shelomith Ann Ewican and Andres Alpas.On his proclamation, Garcia was accompanied by his aunt, Governor Garcia, and uncle, Rep. Pablo John “PJ” Garcia, who ran unopposed in his bid for reelection in Cebu’s third district. (JKV, BBT, CTL)