Vispopx Celebrating 10 years of Visayan music

Cebu’s finest ignited The Terraces in Ayala Center Cebu with the Vispop X Finals Night held on Aug. 27. The event showcased heartfelt musical performances in celebration of 10 years of the Visayan pop (Vispop) songwriting campaign.Vispop is not just a songwriting competition—it is a loud movement which aims to showcase the distinct talents of Visayan Songwriters in breaking the traditional music Cebuanos enjoy but still preserving the image of being a proud Bisaya.Gleaned from hundreds of submissions from all over the Philippines, it wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that the event itself—featuring the Top 6 contenders—was nothing short of breathtaking.Leading the finalists’ performances was Kent Charcos’ “Da Vao,” which was then followed by John Erscel’s “Hawid,” Mary Anchit’s “Isayaw Tika,” Paolo Olvido and Nazareth Actub’s “My Baleleng,” Keith John Quito’s “Para Natong Duha,” and finally, Ferdinand Aragon’s “Bangon Adlaw.”Each performance ventured towards different messages and stories that Cebuanos can without a doubt relate to.To amplify the night’s celebration, live audiences and online viewers were treated to electric performances from special guests: Asia’s Phoenix Morissette, alongside Vispop’s very own Medyo Maldito, Oh! Caraga, Kurt Fick, Jacky Chang, Jerika Teodorico, Jewel Villaflores and James Gulles.The grand prize went to “Para Natong Duha” Quito, second prize to “Hawid” by Galagar, and third prize was awarded to “Bangon Adlaw” by Aragon. The following songs also received respective awards: FILSCAP Choice Award went to “Isayaw Tika” by Anchit, Warner Music Philippines’ Choice Award went to “Hawid” by Erscel, and the People’s Choice Award went to “Da Vao” by Charcos.Vispop X Finals Night was made possible by the collaborative efforts of Artist Ko Multipurpose Cooperative, co-presented by Padayon Jud Foundation and Warner Music Philippines, and with special participation of FILSCAP and Kadasig.