Fatboyz FC gives up title for players’ safety

THE Fatboyz Football Club (FC) displayed the highest form of sportsmanship in the P’gsalabuk Football Festival 2022 on Sunday, May 29, 2022, in Dipolog City after giving up a chance to win the title for the safety of the players.Instead of competing for the championship, the Cebu-based football club decided to hand the title to the other finalist, Barra FC, because the pitch had no lights and was already unfit for play.Fatboyz FC earned a spot in the finals after winning nine straight matches.Fatboyz FC and Barra FC already played a few minutes in the championship match. Fatboyz FC defender Abby Banuag approached the referee and explained that the pitch was too dark and unfit for play. He suggested that the match should go directly to a penalty shootout to decide the champion.However, the coach of Barra FC didn’t agree with Banuag’s suggestion and wanted the match to continue.Because Fatboyz FC wanted to prioritize the safety of the players the team decided to just give the championship to Barra FC. The club’s move was lauded by the football fans in attendance.The Fatboyz FC squad is composed of Banuag, Jaire Dave Tanjay, Jeff Leonard Labus, Wayne Seguerra, Edrianne Mejaran, Kore Kore Marius, Tahir Er, Juvan Torres, Gaudito Taneo and Freddie Bocuya.